Der Ring des Nibelungen

By Necati Öziri
Staging: Christopher Rüping
 

Richard Wagner’s Ring of the Nibelung is a monster, full of otherworldly music and deep-seated hatred, full of fervent storms of love and hardcore racism, full of a deep reverence for nature and for Darwin’s blood ideology. Should it even continue to be performed today? No, not necessarily. Nevertheless, even if the Ring were to disappear into the depths of the archives, never to be performed again, it would be difficult to undo the influence this megalomaniacal work has had.
It is however possible to correct it!

Author Necati Öziri has written just such a “correction” of the Ring, in which the stories that Wagner withheld are finally told. Musicians Black Cracker and Jonas Holle have assembled an orchestra of independent musicians, countering Wagner’s one-man show with a polyphonic work, and director Christopher Rüping is finally turning his hand to opera! Hojotoho!

 

Staging
Christopher Rüping
Text
Necati Öziri
Set Design
Jonathan Mertz
Costumes
Lene Schwind
Music
Black Cracker / Jonas Holle / Born In Flamez / Gil Schneider / Isa GT / Ixa Psybourg / Legion Seven / Leo Luchini / Philipp Hülsenbeck / Simonne Jones
Dramaturgy
Katinka Deecke
  • World premiere: 21 January 2022, Pfauen
  • Pfauen
Data
Friday 28.01. Pfauen
28Add to Kalendar
Bits on Pieces
More texts and contexts related to our stagings in the theatre’s journal.
Directors Talk:
Christopher Rüping and
Alexander Giesche

With the series Directors Talk you can bring our in-house directors Alexander Giesche, Suna Gürler, Trajal Harrell, Yana Ross, Christopher Rüping, Nicolas Stemann, Wu Tsang, and co-artistic director Benjamin von Blomberg along with you into the productions of the 2021/22 season in eight conversations. During the second lockdown they met on Zoom to talk about here, now, and tomorrow, mainly in pairs and once round-robin. The conversations are part of the season preview, which presents the 2021/2022 season and is available now in all our venues, as well as free to order online.

more
Directors Talk:
Trajal Harrell and
Christopher Rüping

With the series Directors Talk you can bring our in-house directors Alexander Giesche, Suna Gürler, Trajal Harrell, Yana Ross, Christopher Rüping, Nicolas Stemann, Wu Tsang, and co-artistic director Benjamin von Blomberg along with you into the productions of the 2021/22 season in eight conversations. During the second lockdown they met on Zoom to talk about here, now, and tomorrow, mainly in pairs and once round-robin. The conversations are part of the season preview, which presents the 2021/2022 season and is available now in all our venues, as well as free to order online.

more
The 8 chatting.

Der Ring des Nibelungen

Von Necati Öziri
Inszenierung: Christopher Rüping
 


Richard Wagners Ring des Nibelungen ist ein Monster, voll von überirdischer Musik und tiefem Hass, voll von inbrünstigen Liebesstürmen und hartem Rassismus, voll von tiefer Naturverehrung und darwinistischer Blut-Ideologie. Sollte man ihn heute überhaupt noch aufführen? Nein, nicht unbedingt. Indes, selbst wenn der Ring in den Tiefen der Archive verschwände und nie wieder aufgeführt würde, könnte man den Einfluss dieses grössenwahnsinnigen Werkes schwerlich rückgängig machen.
Was jedoch möglich ist: es zu korrigieren!

Der Autor Necati Öziri hat eine solche «Korrektur» des Rings geschrieben, in dem die Geschichten erzählt werden, die Wagner verschweigt; die Musiker Black Cracker und Jonas Holle haben ein Orchester unabhängiger Musiker*innen versammelt, um Wagners One-Man-Show ein vielstimmiges Werk entgegenzusetzen; und der Regisseur Christopher Rüping wendet sich endlich der Oper zu! Hojotoho!

 

Inszenierung
Christopher Rüping
Text
Necati Öziri
Bühne
Jonathan Mertz
Kostüme
Lene Schwind
Musik
Black Cracker / Jonas Holle / Born In Flamez / Gil Schneider / Isa GT / Ixa Psybourg / Legion Seven / Leo Luchini / Philipp Hülsenbeck / Simonne Jones
Dramaturgie
Katinka Deecke
  • Uraufführung: 21. Januar 2022, Pfauen
  • Pfauen
Daten
Fr 21.01. Pfauen
21Zum Kalender hinzufügen
Bits on Pieces
Weitere Texte und Kontexte zu unseren Inszenierungen im Schauspielhaus Journal.
Directors Talk:
Trajal Harrell und
Christopher Rüping

In der Reihe Directors Talk nehmen Sie unsere Hausregisseur*innen Alexander Giesche, Suna Gürler, Trajal Harrell, Yana Ross, Christopher Rüping, Nicolas Stemann, Wu Tsang sowie Co-Intendant Benjamin von Blomberg in acht Gesprächen mit in die Produktionen der Spielzeit 2021/22. Sie haben sich während des zweiten Lockdowns auf Zoom zum Austausch über das Hier, Jetzt und Morgen getroffen, immer zu zweit, einmal reihum. Die Gespräche sind Teil des Saisonvorschau, die die Spielzeit 2021/2022 vorstellt und ab sofort in all unseren Spielstätten ausliegt, sowie kostenlos online bestellt werden kann. 

mehr
Directors Talk:
Christopher Rüping und
Alexander Giesche

In der Reihe Directors Talk nehmen Sie unsere Hausregisseur*innen Alexander Giesche, Suna Gürler, Trajal Harrell, Yana Ross, Christopher Rüping, Nicolas Stemann, Wu Tsang sowie Co-Intendant Benjamin von Blomberg in acht Gesprächen mit in die Produktionen der Spielzeit 2021/22. Sie haben sich während des zweiten Lockdowns auf Zoom zum Austausch über das Hier, Jetzt und Morgen getroffen, immer zu zweit, einmal reihum. Die Gespräche sind Teil des Saisonvorschau, die die Spielzeit 2021/2022 vorstellt und ab sofort in all unseren Spielstätten ausliegt, sowie kostenlos online bestellt werden kann. 

mehr
Die 8 Regisseur*innen im Chat.