Paula Henrike Hermann

Paula Henrike Herrmann, born in Bern in 1993, began studying product design with a focus on fashion design in Basel in 2012. After completing her Bachelor's degree, she transferred to the Faculty of Fine Arts and completed her Master's degree there in 2018.

Examination of shame, autonomous thinking and the potential of defining one's own biography form the centre of her work. She works intensively with painting and collage and has shown her work at Vera Wessels in Zurich, WallRiss in Fribourg, Kunsthaus Baselland, Kunsthalle Wil and Glasgow Internationals in Scotland, among others.

Paula is a co-founder of the collective "Natalie Portman", which deals with the idea of identity and works across all genres. Recent formats of the collective have taken place at Kunstverein Dresden, Circuit Lausanne and Istituto Svizzero in Rome.

Before the Sky Falls is their first collaboration with director Christiane Jatahy.

Paula Henrike Hermann

Paula Henrike Herrmann, geboren 1993 in Bern, begann 2012 ein Studium in Produktdesign mit Schwerpunkt Modedesign in Basel. Nach Abschluss des Bachelors wechselte sie an die Fakultät für Freie Kunst und schloss dort 2018 den Master ab.

Auseinandersetzung mit Scham, autonomem Denken und dem Potenzial der Definition einer eigenen Biographie bilden das Zentrum ihrer Arbeit. Sie beschäftigt sich intensiv mit Malerei und Mitteln der Collage und hat ihre Arbeiten unter Anderem bei Vera Wessels in Zürich, WallRiss in Fribourg, im Kunsthaus Baselland, der Kunsthalle Wil und am Glasgow Internationals in Schottland gezeigt.

Paula ist Mitbegründerin des Kollektivs „Natalie Portman“, welches sich mit der Idee einer Identität beschäftigt und spartenübergreifend arbeitet. Letzte Formate des Kollektivs fanden im Kunstverein Dresden, im Circuit Lausanne und im Istituto Svizzero in Rom statt.

Before the Sky Falls ist ihre erste Zusammenarbeit mit der Regisseurin Christiane Jatahy.