Wetterleuchten Ⅰ
Kino im Garten

On three weekends in June, the garden in the inner courtyard of the Schiffbau becomes a summer cinema. In cooperation with the cinemas Riffraff & Houdini and a screening by the Black Film Festival Zurich, we will show nine films in the Wetterleuchten series and thereby create a multi-faceted, wild and resistant image of nature. Air, water and earth thematically frame one weekend each. Based on these three elements, an associative, cinematic journey emerges that depicts the interplay between humans and nature. The genres of the films range from fantastical animated works to slow cinema and visually powerful documentaries.

 

The Mushroom Speaks

Fr., 10 June 2022, 21:30

Fungi have been used since time immemorial and yet remain a mystery to this day. Meanwhile, research in mycology forms such a dense network of different approaches as the unique creatures themselves. The cinematic research journey traces possible alliances with the realm of fungi and invites us to imagine a myco-cultural (r)evolution.

Director: Marion Neumann
Duration: 90 Minuten
Language: Several languages / German subtitles

Trailer: https://vimeo.com/534862292

This Is Not A Burial, It’s A Resurrection

Sa., 11. June 2022, 21:30

We are talking about water, but it is actually about soil and land. In the mountainous region of Lesotho, a village has to make way for a reservoir. At first, only the old widow Mantoa, who is done with life, resists the resettlement. She wants to bury herself in the earth with her ancestors, gains new vitality, and ignites the collective spirit of resistance.

Director: Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese
Duration: 120 Minutes
Language: Sesotho / German subtitles

Trailer: https://vimeo.com/480310765

Taming The Garden (Grosser Baum auf Reise)

Sunday, 12 June 2022, 21:30

A powerful man buys the most beautiful and largest trees along the Georgian coast to transplant them into his private garden. For transport, other trees are felled, new roads are paved through orchards, and shipping dams are heaped up. Scarred villages, confused communities and a little money are left behind. The dramatic migration of the trees, told in poetic-hypnotic images.

Director: Salomé Jashi
Duration: 92 Minutes
Language: Georgian / German subtitles

Trailer: https://vimeo.com/603930460

 

Image gallery & Videos

Wetterleuchten Ⅰ
Kino im Garten

Filmstill aus der Dokumentation des Gartenrituals im Sommer 2020. Credits: Emma Lou Herrmann

An drei Wochenenden im Juni wird der Garten im Innenhof vom Schiffbau zum Sommerkino. Gemeinsam mit den Kinos Riffraff & Houdini und einem Screening des Black Film Festival Zurich zeigen wir in der Reihe Wetterleuchten insgesamt neun Filme und entwerfen ein facettenreiches, wildes und widerständiges Bild von Natur. Luft, Wasser und Erde rahmen thematisch jeweilsein Wochenende. Anhand dieser drei Elemente entsteht eine assoziative, cineastische Reise, die das Zusammen-spiel von Mensch und Natur abbildet. Das Genre der Filme reicht von phantastischen Animationsarbeiten, zu slow cinema, bis hin zu bildgewaltigen Dokumentarfilmen.

 

The Mushroom 

Speaks

Fr., 10. Juni 2022, 21:30 Uhr

Pilze werden seit jeher genutzt und sind dennoch bis heute ein Mysterium. Inzwischen bildet die Forschung der Mykologie ein derart dichtes Netz unterschiedlicher Ansätze, wie die einzigartigen Lebewesen selbst. Die filmische Forschungsreise spürt möglichen Allianzen mit dem Reich der Pilze nach und lädt dazu ein, sich eine myko-kulturelle (R)Evolution vorzustellen.

Regie: Marion Neumann
Dauer: 90 Minuten
Sprache: Ov/d

Trailer: https://vimeo.com/534862292

 

This Is Not A Burial, It’s A Resurrection

Sa., 11. Juni 2022, 21:30 Uhr

Die Rede ist von Wasser, doch geht es um Grund und Boden. Im Bergland Lesothos soll ein Dorf einem Stausee weichen. Gegen die Umsiedlung wehrt sich zunächst nur die alte Witwe Mantoa, welche mit ihrem Leben eigentlich bereits abgeschlossen hat. Sie will sich in die Erde zu ihren Vorfahren legen, gewinnt neue Lebenskraft und entfacht den kollektiven Geist des Widerstands.

Regie: Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese
Dauer: 120 Minuten
Sprache: Ov/d

Trailer: https://vimeo.com/480310765

 

Taming The Garden (Grosser Baum auf Reise)

So., 12. Juni 2022, 21:30 Uhr

Ein mächtiger Mann kauft die schönsten und grössten Bäume entlang der georgischen Küste, um sie in seinen privaten Garten zu verpflanzen. Für den Transport werden andere Bäume gefällt, neue Strassen durch Obsthaine gepflastert, Verschiffungsdämme aufgeschüttet. Zurück bleiben vernarbte Dörfer, verwirrte Gemeinschaften und etwas Geld. Die dramatische Migration der Bäume, erzählt in poetisch-hypnotischen Bildern.

Regie: Salomé Jashi
Dauer: 92 Minuten
Sprache: Ov/d

Trailer: https://vimeo.com/603930460

 

  • Schiffbau-Atrium
Daten
Fr 10.06. 21:30 Schiffbau-Atrium
Tickets10Zum Kalender hinzufügen
Sa 11.06. 21:30 Schiffbau-Atrium
Tickets11Zum Kalender hinzufügen
So 12.06. 21:30 Schiffbau-Atrium
Tickets12Zum Kalender hinzufügen

Bildergalerie & Videos