Moby Dick

By Moved by the Motion after the novel Moby Dick by Herman Melville
Staging: Wu Tsang

 

Wu Tsang reads Herman Melville’s novel Moby Dick, transforming this American classic into an aesthetic investigation into racism and authority, cosmopolitanism and community, seduction and queer lifestyles. Drawing on the aesthetic devices of silent films and accompanied live by the Zurich Chamber Orchestra (ZKO), she takes on the story of Captain Ahab, who is sailing through the colonised world of the mid-19th century with men who speak various languages and have different skin colours and cultures. Their aim is to kill the white whale Moby Dick – a whale that is more than an animal, but rather an ambiguous and shimmering metaphor that can stand for good as well as evil, for God or for the devil, for the violence of nature or its beauty.

Together with her group Moved by the Motion, as well as actors and dancers drawn from the ensemble of the Schauspielhaus Zurich, Wu Tsang is making a silent film about the whale and the crew of men hunting it down. Tsang’s long-time collaborator Asma Maroof will be writing the music for the ZKO together with American composer Caroline Shaw.

 

Staging
Wu Tsang
Camera
Antonio Cisneros
Movement & Creative Direction
Tosh Basco
Choreography
Josh Johnson
Text
Sophia Al-Maria
Costume
Telfar x / Kyle Luu
Musical Direction
Asma Maroof
Composition
Caroline Shaw
Editing
Anthony Valdez
Virtual Production
Bild Studios
Video Design
Fray Studios
Production Management
Laura D’Incau

Dramaturgy
Katinka Deecke

In cooperation with the Zürcher Kammerorchester (ZKO)
In coproduction with deSingel, TBA21-Academy & Luma Foundation

  • Premiere: March 2022, Pfauen
Bits on Pieces
More texts and contexts related to our stagings in the theatre’s journal.
Directors Talk:
Wu Tsang and Trajal Harrell

With the series Directors Talk you can bring our in-house directors Alexander Giesche, Suna Gürler, Trajal Harrell, Yana Ross, Christopher Rüping, Nicolas Stemann, Wu Tsang, and co-artistic director Benjamin von Blomberg along with you into the productions of the 2021/22 season in eight conversations. During the second lockdown they met on Zoom to talk about here, now, and tomorrow, mainly in pairs and once round-robin. The conversations are part of the season preview, which presents the 2021/2022 season and is available now in all our venues, as well as free to order online.

more
Directors Talk:
Yana Ross and Wu Tsang

With the series Directors Talk you can bring our in-house directors Alexander Giesche, Suna Gürler, Trajal Harrell, Yana Ross, Christopher Rüping, Nicolas Stemann, Wu Tsang, and co-artistic director Benjamin von Blomberg along with you into the productions of the 2021/22 season in eight conversations. During the second lockdown they met on Zoom to talk about here, now, and tomorrow, mainly in pairs and once round-robin. The conversations are part of the season preview, which presents the 2021/2022 season and is available now in all our venues, as well as free to order online.

more
The 8 chatting.

Moby Dick

Von Moved by the Motion nach dem Roman Moby Dick von Herman Melville
Inszenierung / Staging: Wu Tsang

 

Wu Tsang liest Herman Melvilles Roman Moby Dick und macht aus dem amerikanischen Klassiker eine ästhetische Untersuchung über Rassismus und Autorität, über Kosmopolitismus und Gemeinschaft, über Verführung und queere Lebensarten. Mit den ästhetischen Mitteln des Stummfilms und live begleitet vom Zürcher Kammerorchester (ZKO) nimmt sie sich die Geschichte von Kapitän Ahab vor, der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts mit Männern verschiedener Sprachen, Hautfarben und Kulturen durch eine kolonisierte Welt fährt, um den weissen Wal Moby Dick zu töten – ein Wal, der mehr ist als ein Tier, eher eine vieldeutige und schillernde Metapher, die für das Gute wie für das Böse, für Gott oder Teufel, für die Gewalt der Natur oder ihre Schönheit stehen kann.

Mit ihrer Gruppe Moved by the Motion sowie Schauspieler*innen und Tänzer*innen aus dem Ensemble des Schauspielhaus Zürich dreht Wu Tsang einen Stummfilm über den Wal und die ihn jagende Mannschaft. Dabei wird Tsangs langjährige Kollaborateurin Asma Maroof zusammen mit der amerikanischen Komponistin Caroline Shaw die Musik für das ZKO schreiben.

 

Inszenierung
Wu Tsang
Kamera
Antonio Cisneros
Movement & Creative Direction
Tosh Basco
Choreographie
Josh Johnson
Text
Sophia Al-Maria
Kostüm
Telfar x / Kyle Luu
Musical Direction
Asma Maroof
Komposition
Caroline Shaw
Schnitt
Anthony Valdez
Virtual Production
Bild Studios
Video Design
Fray Studios
Produktionsleitung
Laura D’Incau

Dramaturgie
Katinka Deecke

In Kooperation mit dem / In cooperation with the Zürcher Kammerorchester (ZKO)
In Koproduktion / In coproduction with deSingel, TBA21-Academy & Luma Foundation

  • Premiere: März 2022, Pfauen
Bits on Pieces
Weitere Texte und Kontexte zu unseren Inszenierungen im Schauspielhaus Journal.
Directors Talk:
Wu Tsang und Trajal Harrell

In der Reihe Directors Talk nehmen Sie unsere Hausregisseur*innen Alexander Giesche, Suna Gürler, Trajal Harrell, Yana Ross, Christopher Rüping, Nicolas Stemann, Wu Tsang sowie Co-Intendant Benjamin von Blomberg in acht Gesprächen mit in die Produktionen der Spielzeit 2021/22. Sie haben sich während des zweiten Lockdowns auf Zoom zum Austausch über das Hier, Jetzt und Morgen getroffen, immer zu zweit, einmal reihum. Die Gespräche sind Teil des Saisonvorschau, die die Spielzeit 2021/2022 vorstellt und ab sofort in all unseren Spielstätten ausliegt, sowie kostenlos online bestellt werden kann. 

mehr
Directors Talk:
Yana Ross und Wu Tsang

In der Reihe Directors Talk nehmen Sie unsere Hausregisseur*innen Alexander Giesche, Suna Gürler, Trajal Harrell, Yana Ross, Christopher Rüping, Nicolas Stemann, Wu Tsang sowie Co-Intendant Benjamin von Blomberg in acht Gesprächen mit in die Produktionen der Spielzeit 2021/22. Sie haben sich während des zweiten Lockdowns auf Zoom zum Austausch über das Hier, Jetzt und Morgen getroffen, immer zu zweit, einmal reihum. Die Gespräche sind Teil des Saisonvorschau, die die Spielzeit 2021/2022 vorstellt und ab sofort in all unseren Spielstätten ausliegt, sowie kostenlos online bestellt werden kann. 

mehr
Die 8 Regisseur*innen im Chat.