Das Kongo Tribunal Kolwezi Hearings

“The Congo Tribunal” in the theatre hall at Collège Alfajiri in Bukavu, Eastern Congo. © 2015 Fruitmarket, Langfilm & IIPM

Summary of the Court Hearing and Debate

Three years after the release of Milo Rau's award-winning documentary, the "Congo Tribunal"’s work was resumed: the international jury of the Congo Tribunal - a world economic court of civil society initiated by Milo Rau - travelled to Kolwezi in southern Congo, where the two largest cobalt mines in the world are operated by the Swiss company Glencore. On 1 October, the investigators-in-charge, Sylvestre Bisimwa and Céline Tshizena, opened the hearings in the mining region of Katanga, D.R. Kongo. They investigate the responsibility of political elites and multinational companies in a number of human rights violations, cases of environmental pollution, and corruption. On 25 October, the hearings are summarised, debated, and conclude in a preliminary verdict at the Schauspielhaus Zürich.

The hearings in Zurich are held by: Miriam Saage-Maaß, Vice Legal Director of European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR), also on stage are Colette Braeckman, Africa correspondent of the Belgian newspaper "Le Soir", Marc-Antoine Vumilia, Congolese author and director, Dorothée Baumann-Pauly, Director of Geneva Center for Business and Human Rights, Nina Burri, expert in international criminal law, responsible for business and human rights at "Brot für alle", Oliver Classen, media spokesperson and project manager at "Public Eye", Daniel Binswanger, head of the culture section of "Republik" and Prof. Dr. Mathias Binswanger, economist and Professor of Economics.​

The debate in Zurich is hosted in cooperation with the Schauspielhaus Zürich. The main language is English. The event can be witnessed online – the live broadcast will be streamed on the Facebook pages of both the Schauspielhaus and the International Institute of Political Murder.

With Sylvestre Bisimwa, Colette Braeckman, Céline Tshizena, Prof. Dr. Denis Mukwege, Marc-Antoine Vumilia, Dorothée Baumann-Pauly, Oliver Classen, Daniel  Binswanger, Prof. Dr. Mathias Binswanger, Miriam Saage-Maaß
Concept
Milo Rau, International Institute of Political Murder
Dramaturgy
Eva-Maria Bertschy
Staging
Anton Lukas

Eine Produktion des International Institute of Political Murder und Lemafrika in Kooperation mit African Ressources Watch mit der Unterstützung von GEA Waldviertler und Brot für alle. Die Debatte in Zürich wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schauspielhaus Zürich veranstaltet.

  • 3 hours 30 minutes (incl. 2 short breaks)
  • 🛈 The event will be held mainly in English. German translation will be provided.

Das Kongo Tribunal Kolwezi Hearings

„Das Kongo Tribunal“ im Theater-Saal des Collège Alfajiri in Bukavu (Ostkongo). © 2015 Fruitmarket, Langfilm & IIPM

Zusammenfassung der Anhörungen und Debatte

Drei Jahre nach dem mehrfach ausgezeichneten Dokumentarfilm von Milo Rau wurde die Arbeit des «Kongo Tribunals» fortgesetzt: die internationale Jury des Kongo Tribunals – ein von Milo Rau initiiertes Weltwirtschaftsgericht der Zivilgesellschaft – ging nach Kolwezi im Südkongo, wo das Schweizer Unternehmen Glencore die zwei grössten Kobaltminen der Welt betreibt. Am 1. Oktober hatten die beiden Untersuchungsleiter*innen Sylvestre Bisimwa und Céline Tshizena mit den Hearings in der Bergbauregion Katanga in der D. R. Kongo begonnen. Sie untersuchen die Verantwortung von politischen Eliten und multinationalen Unternehmen in einer Reihe von Menschenrechtsverletzungen, Fällen von Umweltverschmutzung und Korruption. Am 25. Oktober werden die Anhörungen im Schauspielhaus Zürich zusammengefasst, debattiert und ein vorläufiges Urteil gefällt.

Die Hearings in Zürich werden geleitet von: Miriam Saage-Maaß, Vice Legal Director of European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR), auf der Bühne sind zudem u. a. Colette Braeckman, Afrikakorrespondentin der belgischen Zeitung «Le Soir», Marc-Antoine Vumilia, kongolesischer Autor und Regisseur, Dorothée Baumann-Pauly, Director of Geneva Center for Business and Human Rights, Nina Burri, Expertin für internationales Strafrecht, verantwortlich für Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte bei «Brot für alle», Oliver Classen, Mediensprecher und Projektleiter bei «Public Eye», Daniel Binswanger Feuilletonleiter der «Republik» und Prof. Dr. Mathias Binswanger, Ökonom und Professor für Volkswirtschaftslehre.

Die Debatte in Zürich wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schauspielhaus Zürich veranstaltet. Hauptsprache ist Englisch. Die Veranstaltung ist auch online live mitverfolgbar – als Stream auf den Facebookseiten des Schauspielhauses und des International Institute of Political Murder übertragen.

 

Mit Sylvestre Bisimwa, Colette Braeckman, Céline Tshizena, Prof. Dr. Denis Mukwege, Marc-Antoine Vumilia, Dorothée Baumann-Pauly, Oliver Classen, Daniel  Binswanger, Prof. Dr. Mathias Binswanger, Miriam Saage-Maaß
Konzept
Milo Rau, International Institute of Political Murder
Dramaturgie
Eva-Maria Bertschy
Bühne
Anton Lukas

Eine Produktion des International Institute of Political Murder und Lemafrika in Kooperation mit African Ressources Watch mit der Unterstützung von GEA Waldviertler und Brot für alle. Die Debatte in Zürich wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schauspielhaus Zürich veranstaltet.

  • 3 Stunden 30 Minuten (inkl. kurzen 2 Pausen)
  • 🛈 Die Veranstaltung wird hauptsächlich auf Englisch stattfinden. Deutsche Übersetzung wird angeboten.