Dancer of the Year

© Orpheas Emirzas

By Trajal Harrell

In 2018 Trajal Harrell was named "Dancer of the Year”. This award, which brings as much honour as it does questions, he has unceremoniously transformed into a two-part work; the first part is an enchantingly beautiful solo in which Harrell stands and dances alone on stage. The Dancer of the Year!

In addition to the performances Deathbed and Dancer of the Year, the installation Dancer of The Year Shop #4 is also part of Harrell's exhibition at Kunsthalle Zürich. It is accessible during the opening hours of the Kunsthalle and is activated from 2-5:30pm each day.

Installation, Soundtrack, Costumes
Trajal Harrell
Set design
Jean Stephan Kiss
Artistic advise
Yasmina Reggad

A co-production with: Kunstfestival des Arts, Kanal  Centre Pompidou, Impulstanz Festival, Schauspielhaus Bochum, Bit Theatergarasjen, Festival d'Automne à Paris, Lafayette Anticipation, Museum Ludwig, Dampfzentrale Bern

  • Zurich-Premiere: 10. März 2022, Kunsthalle Zurich
  • Recommended age: 16 and above
  • 🛈 A ticket for Trajal Harrell's solo Dancer of the Year allows an additional free entry to Kunsthalle until May 22 to see the installation Dancer of the Year Shop #4 and the exhibition of Igshaan Adams.

Dancer of the Year

© Orpheas Emirzas

Von Trajal Harrell

Im Jahr 2018 wurde Trajal Harrell zum «Tänzer des Jahres» gekürt. Diese Auszeichnung, die ebenso viel Ehre wie Fragen mit sich bringt, hat er kurzerhand in ein zweiteiliges Werk überführt, dessen erster Teil ein berückend schönes Solo ist, in dem Harrell alleine auf der Bühne steht und tanzt. The Dancer of the Year!

Neben den Performances Deathbed und  Dancer of the Year ist auch die Installation Dancer of The Year Shop #4 Teil von Harrells Ausstellung in der Kunsthalle Zürich. Sie ist zu den Öffnungszeiten der Kunsthalle zugänglich und wird jeweils von 14-17:30 Uhr aktiviert.

Installation, Soundtrack, Kostüme
Trajal Harrell
Raum
Jean Stephan Kiss
Künstlerische Beratung
Yasmina Reggad

Eine Koproduktion mit: Kunstfestival des Arts, Kanal  Centre Pompidou, Impulstanz Festival, Schauspielhaus Bochum, Bit Theatergarasjen, Festival d'Automne à Paris, Lafayette Anticipation, Museum Ludwig, Dampfzentrale Bern

  • Zürich-Premiere: 10. März 2022, Kunsthalle Zürich
  • Empfohlen ab 16 Jahren
  • 🛈 Ein Ticket für das Solo von Trajal Harrell berechtigt zu einem erneuten freien Eintritt in der Kunsthalle bis zum 22. Mai für die Installation Dancer of the Year Shop #4 und die Ausstellung von Igshaan Adams.