Trajal Harrell /
Schauspielhaus Zürich Dance Ensemble

Trajal Harrell is one of the most important contemporary choreographers and in-house director at the Schauspielhaus Zürich. For more than 20 years, Harrell has been creating pieces for international dance- and playhouses as well as museums and art houses on various continents. However, although Trajal Harrell has been working with the same dancers for many years and also maintains long-term partnerships in global art institutions, there has not yet been a single institution until now that has been directly connected to his work and thus, neither has there been a company.

In the meantime, all this has changed. Trajal Harrell has been directing a dance company at the Schauspielhaus Zürich since 2019: The Schauspielhaus Zürich Dance Ensemble. After Meg Stuart and her company Damaged Goods had already made a brief but very impressive attempt to create a place for dance at the Schauspielhaus Zürich under the directorship of Christoph Marthaler in the early 2000s, the Schauspielhaus now has a dance company again. For the Schauspielhaus Zürich Dance Ensemble, Harrell brought Titilayo Adebayo, Frances Chiaverini, Seyda Harjo Grahn, Perle Palombe, Songhay Toldon and Ondrej Vidlar to Zurich, where they have been full-time ensemble members since 2019.

The Schauspielhaus Zürich Dance Ensemble opened the 2020/21 season at the Pfauen with The Köln Concert. In December 2021, Monkey off My Back or the Cat's Meow, with dancers and actors, took place in the Schiffbau Halle. And in March 2022, Harrell will present Deathbed, the final part of his trilogy Porca Miseria at the Kunsthalle Zürich.

In addition, the Schauspielhaus Zürich Dance Ensemble regularly tours internationally; since autumn 2021 it has been invited to Rome, Brussels and Leipzig, with further stops in Paris, New York, Berlin, Amsterdam and many more.

The productions by the Schauspielhaus Zürich Dance Ensemble:

The Köln Concert
Monkey off My Back or the Cat’s Meow
Deathbed

Trajal Harrell /
Schauspielhaus Zürich Dance Ensemble

Trajal Harrell ist einer der wichtigsten zeitgenössischen Choreograf*innen sowie Hausregisseur am Schauspielhaus Zürich. Seit mehr als 20 Jahren erarbeitet Harrell Stücke für internationale Tanz- und Theaterhäuser sowie für Museen und Kunsthäuser auf verschiedenen Kontinenten. Doch obwohl Trajal Harrell seit vielen Jahren mit denselben Tänzer*innen arbeitet und auch in den globalen Kunstinstitutionen langfristige Partnerschaften pflegt, gab es bis anhin keine einzelne Institution, die ursächlich mit seinem Schaffen verbunden wäre und somit im Wortsinn auch keine Kompanie.

Inzwischen hat sich das geändert. Trajal Harrell leitet am Schauspielhaus Zürich seit 2019 eine Tanzkompanie, das Schauspielhaus Zürich Dance Ensemble. Nachdem bereits unter der Intendanz von Christoph Marthaler Anfang der 2000er Jahre Meg Stuart und ihre Kompanie Damaged Goods einen kurzen, aber sehr eindrücklichen Versuch unternommen hatten, dem Tanz am Schauspielhaus Zürich einen Platz zu verschaffen, gibt es nun wieder eine Tanzkompanie. Für das Schauspielhaus Zürich Dance Ensemble holte Harrell Titilayo Adebayo, Frances Chiaverini, Seyda Harjo Grahn, Perle Palombe, Songhay Toldon und Ondrej Vidlar nach Zürich, wo sie seit 2019 feste Ensemblemitglieder sind.

Mit The Köln Concert hat das Schauspielhaus Zürich Dance Ensemble die Spielzeit 2020/21 im Pfauen eröffnet. Im Dezember 2021 fand Monkey off My Back or the Cat’s Meow mit Tänzer*innen und Schauspieler*innen in der Schiffbau-Halle statt. Und im März 2022 präsentiert Harrell mit Deathbed den letzten Teil seiner Trilogie Porca Miseria in der Kunsthalle Zürich.

Ausserdem geht das Schauspielhaus Zürich Dance Ensemble regelmässig international auf Tournee, seit Herbst 2021 war es zu Gast in Rom, Brüssel und Leipzig, weitere Stationen sind Paris, New York, Berlin, Amsterdam und viele weitere.


Die Produktionen des Schauspielhaus Zürich Dance Ensembles:

The Köln Concert
Monkey off My Back or the Cat’s Meow
Deathbed