Monkey off My Back or the Cat’s Meow

By Trajal Harrell
Staging and Choreography: Trajal Harrell

How can something arise from nothing? This question has occupied not only philosophy since its beginnings, but also the U.S. choreographer Trajal Harrell. In his new work, he searches for forms that develop freely and without external influence. The starting point of the project is an obscure gathering of dazzling characters in the vast dimensions of the Schiffbau-Halle. In the gathering of dancers and actors from the Zurich ensemble, the potentials for revolution and beauty unfold in equal measure, concepts of something and nothing are brought into juxtaposition. An iconography that, between historical references and pop culture, between everyday gestures, social patterns and artificial poses, conjures up the powers of the body. In the alchemy of theater, life emerges from no particular theme… The team starts with nothing, wanders here and there, but all withstanding most of all together.

 

Staging, Choreography, Stage Design, Costumes, Soundtrack
Trajal Harrell
Rehearsal Director
Maria Ferreira Silva / Ondrej Vidlar
Co-Soundtrack
Asma Maroof
Co-Stage
Erik Flatmo
Light Design
Stéfane Perraud
Dramaturgy
Laura Paetau / Tobias Staab
  • Premiere: 3 December 2021, Schiffbau-Halle
  • Schiffbau-Halle
  • Also interesting for ages 16 and up
  • 🛈 Introduction 30 min before the play on 7.12., 9.12., 10.12., 13.12., 15.12., 16.12., 18.12., 21.12., 22.12., 23.12. and 28.12.
Data
Friday 03.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
  • Premiere
Tickets03Add to Kalendar
Tuesday 07.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets07Add to Kalendar
  • Schiffbau Subscription
Thursday 09.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets09Add to Kalendar
Friday 10.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets10Add to Kalendar
Sunday 12.12. 16:00 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets12Add to Kalendar
Monday 13.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets13Add to Kalendar
  • Theatre Monday
Wednesday 15.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets15Add to Kalendar
Thursday 16.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets16Add to Kalendar
Saturday 18.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets18Add to Kalendar
Tuesday 21.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets21Add to Kalendar
Wednesday 22.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets22Add to Kalendar
  • Carte Blanche
Thursday 23.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets23Add to Kalendar
Tuesday 28.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets28Add to Kalendar
Wednesday 29.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets29Add to Kalendar
Friday 31.12. 21:00 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets31Add to Kalendar
More performances
less performances
Bits on Pieces
More texts and contexts related to our stagings in the theatre’s journal.
Directors Talk:
Trajal Harrell and
Christopher Rüping

With the series Directors Talk you can bring our in-house directors Alexander Giesche, Suna Gürler, Trajal Harrell, Yana Ross, Christopher Rüping, Nicolas Stemann, Wu Tsang, and co-artistic director Benjamin von Blomberg along with you into the productions of the 2021/22 season in eight conversations. During the second lockdown they met on Zoom to talk about here, now, and tomorrow, mainly in pairs and once round-robin. The conversations are part of the season preview, which presents the 2021/2022 season and is available now in all our venues, as well as free to order online.

more
Directors Talk:
Wu Tsang and Trajal Harrell

With the series Directors Talk you can bring our in-house directors Alexander Giesche, Suna Gürler, Trajal Harrell, Yana Ross, Christopher Rüping, Nicolas Stemann, Wu Tsang, and co-artistic director Benjamin von Blomberg along with you into the productions of the 2021/22 season in eight conversations. During the second lockdown they met on Zoom to talk about here, now, and tomorrow, mainly in pairs and once round-robin. The conversations are part of the season preview, which presents the 2021/2022 season and is available now in all our venues, as well as free to order online.

more
The 8 chatting.

Monkey off My Back or the Cat’s Meow

Von Trajal Harrell
Inszenierung und Choreografie: Trajal Harrell

 

Wie kann etwas aus nichts entstehen? Diese Frage beschäftigt nicht nur die Philosophie seit ihren Anfängen, sondern auch den US-Choreografen Trajal Harrell. In seiner neuen Arbeit sucht er nach Formen, die sich frei und ohne äussere Einwirkung entwickeln. Ausgangspunkt des Projekts ist eine obskure Versammlung schillernder Charaktere in den weiten Dimensionen der Schiffbau-Halle. In der Zusammenkunft von Tänzer*innen und Schauspieler*innen des Zürcher Ensembles entfalten sich die Potenziale für Revolution und Schönheit gleichermassen, werden Konzepte von etwas und nichts in ein Nebeneinander gebracht. So entsteht ein Stück, das zwischen historischen Bezügen und Pop-Kultur, zwischen Alltagsgesten, sozialen Mustern und Posen die Kräfte des Körpers beschwört.

 

 

Inszenierung, Choreografie, Bühne, Kostüme, Soundtrack
Trajal Harrell
Rehearsal Director
Maria Ferreira Silva / Ondrej Vidlar
Co-Soundtrack
Asma Maroof
Co-Bühne
Erik Flatmo
Licht
Stéfane Perraud
Dramaturgie
Laura Paetau / Tobias Staab
  • Premiere: 3. Dezember 2021, Schiffbau-Halle
  • Schiffbau-Halle
  • Auch interessant für Menschen ab 16
  • 🛈 Einführung 30 Min vor der Aufführung am 7.12., 9.12., 10.12., 13.12., 15.12., 16.12., 18.12., 21.12., 22.12., 23.12. und 28.12.
Daten
Fr 03.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
  • Premiere
Tickets03Zum Kalender hinzufügen
Di 07.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets07Zum Kalender hinzufügen
  • Schiffbau-Abo
Do 09.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets09Zum Kalender hinzufügen
Fr 10.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets10Zum Kalender hinzufügen
So 12.12. 16:00 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets12Zum Kalender hinzufügen
Mo 13.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets13Zum Kalender hinzufügen
  • Theatermontag
Mi 15.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets15Zum Kalender hinzufügen
Do 16.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets16Zum Kalender hinzufügen
Sa 18.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets18Zum Kalender hinzufügen
Di 21.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets21Zum Kalender hinzufügen
Mi 22.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets22Zum Kalender hinzufügen
  • Carte Blanche
Do 23.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets23Zum Kalender hinzufügen
Di 28.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets28Zum Kalender hinzufügen
Mi 29.12. 19:30 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets29Zum Kalender hinzufügen
Fr 31.12. 21:00 Schiffbau-Halle
Tickets31Zum Kalender hinzufügen
Weitere Vorstellungen
Weniger Vorstellungen
Bits on Pieces
Weitere Texte und Kontexte zu unseren Inszenierungen im Schauspielhaus Journal.
Directors Talk:
Trajal Harrell und
Christopher Rüping

In der Reihe Directors Talk nehmen Sie unsere Hausregisseur*innen Alexander Giesche, Suna Gürler, Trajal Harrell, Yana Ross, Christopher Rüping, Nicolas Stemann, Wu Tsang sowie Co-Intendant Benjamin von Blomberg in acht Gesprächen mit in die Produktionen der Spielzeit 2021/22. Sie haben sich während des zweiten Lockdowns auf Zoom zum Austausch über das Hier, Jetzt und Morgen getroffen, immer zu zweit, einmal reihum. Die Gespräche sind Teil des Saisonvorschau, die die Spielzeit 2021/2022 vorstellt und ab sofort in all unseren Spielstätten ausliegt, sowie kostenlos online bestellt werden kann. 

mehr
Directors Talk:
Wu Tsang und Trajal Harrell

In der Reihe Directors Talk nehmen Sie unsere Hausregisseur*innen Alexander Giesche, Suna Gürler, Trajal Harrell, Yana Ross, Christopher Rüping, Nicolas Stemann, Wu Tsang sowie Co-Intendant Benjamin von Blomberg in acht Gesprächen mit in die Produktionen der Spielzeit 2021/22. Sie haben sich während des zweiten Lockdowns auf Zoom zum Austausch über das Hier, Jetzt und Morgen getroffen, immer zu zweit, einmal reihum. Die Gespräche sind Teil des Saisonvorschau, die die Spielzeit 2021/2022 vorstellt und ab sofort in all unseren Spielstätten ausliegt, sowie kostenlos online bestellt werden kann. 

mehr
Die 8 Regisseur*innen im Chat.